Four Levels of We are Breaking the Silence About Death || Life and Death || Bcis Notes

Four Levels of We are Breaking the Silence About Death

Four Levels of We are Breaking the Silence About Death(Daniel Goleman):

1. Literal Comprehension

The psychiatrist Elizabeth Kubler-Ross and the writer are going to fly to Colorado Springs for a workshop with nurses, doctors, and volunteers. She becomes late to the airport but comes with a small woman, who she says will be joining them at the scenario. She only has a few days to live and has never gone anywhere from her hometown. so Rose wanted her to live her remaining days freely.

Ross’s work with dying patients began when started to search for a dying patient in a hospital but could find none. She asks the nurse about it who says that they also haven’t seen dying patients ever and even the doctors feel weird talking about death. The body of dead patients just seemed to vanish from the hospital.

Kubler first talked about death openly through her book ‘On Death and Dying’. She also became the Chairman of the National Advisory Council. From there she started to provide an around-the-clock medical team for the dying people, a center for dying patients where their family is also allowed to stay if interested.

Kubler is originally from Switzerland where she has seen people ready to face death even when they were being bombed. After all this familiarization with the people who face death, she comes up with the steps of progression for them i.e. Denial, Rage, Bargaining, Depression, and Acceptance.

Everyone’s first reaction when they first hear that they are going to die is that they will deny it. They will think that there has been some mistake

2. Interpretation

The dying person denies or says “No” when he first knows that he is going to die. The denial makes it easy for him to bear the force of death. At the unconscious level, a person never believes that he will die. From their refusal, he begins to hope. Kublor Rose suggests that we should take about death with the patient and arrange to complete all possible things.

3. Critical Thinking

This passage has clearly expressed how the topic of death has become a fashionable subject. But The Behavior of a dying person is at the unconscious level. These stages or levels are denial, anger or rage, bargaining, depression, and acceptance.

4. Assimilation

When a patient stops denying, he begins to be angry. He is angry about seeing other healthy people. When his anger becomes less, he starts bargaining with God. He wants to become good if he is given some more time to live. After he has accepted his death partially, he becomes depressed. He feels sorry for past mistakes or incomplete tasks. He wants to pass time in isolation. Finally, he accepts death peacefully and he is not worried about making his life longer. He settles everything. His own diseases also do not worry him. He enjoys the present moment without thinking of the future. He lives the full life.

These are the conceptual notes of Four Levels of We are Breaking the Silence About Death
You may also like: Four Levels of The Five Stages of Grief


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.